Retirement Visa refused from UK

Just went into the London embassy this morning and was refused a retirement visa.

My bank statements show income from a number of sources and for different amounts. I explained that I was a semi-retired consultant on some retainers and some commissions so the amounts varied from month to month. After checking with boss, she came back and told me that as I was still "working" I would not be able to have a retirement visa. I either need to show the THB800,000 in a bank (UK or Thai) or show my PENSION income. I am 51 and explained that it would be illegal in the UK for me to be collecting any kind of UK pension (55 is the earliest).

Anyway, she happily recommended a triple entry 60 day tourist visa, which I accepted, as I travel regularly.

I will probably try applying in Bangkok where I expect the "rules" to be a little different.

• Replies 104
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

After you get here you could do a change of visa status to get a 90 day non immigrant visa entry, You will need 800k baht in a Thai bank or proof of 65K baht income by way of an income letter from the UK embassy.

The after about 60 day you could do the extension of stay. The 800k baht would have to be in the bank for 60 days at this time or you would need another income letter.

Info about getting the income letter: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/how-to-obtain-a-pensionincome-letter-for-thai-immigration

This is the first I've heard about evidence of funds in foreign (or rather home country) banks being used for a retirement visa.

Can anyone else verify this?

The requirement for an O-A visa in Sydney was for a statement showing the equivalent of 800,000 baht in an Australian account (in my own name only) plus a letter of guarantee from the bank.