US Passport Issued in Chiang Mai - More Scrutinized?

Hello all,

Glad to finally join these forums after years of great information coming out of here.

I've got a dilemma, which is 100% my fault, but would like to ask the advice of some pros.

I'm a full-time travel writer. I've got a passport, extended twice already, that is nearly full. Expires in September 2015. Plan was to renew this month, now that the holidays are over.

What happened was that I have had a trip to Southeast Asia pop up. I'll be in Thailand for February and March. Per the State Dept site, not enough time to get a new passport before leaving. Since I'm in the region, I'd love to jump down to Malaysia and some other old haunts. Problem is, I'll be officially outside the six-month validity requirement for my passport if I linger too long.

In everyone's experience, just wondering how much the six-month validity rule is enforced? I've heard horror stories of the new visa crackdowns recently. I'm not exactly thrilled at the prospect of having to sweat my way through every border crossing / airline boarding.

I guess the other option would be to apply for a passport renewal in Chiang Mai, where I'll be stationed. Just wondering if anyone has had any issues with passports that were issued outside of the U.S. being more scrutinized? Will I catch more crap than I already do as a nearly perpetual, single male traveler? And how difficult would it be to then have my tourist visa moved over to the new passport?

This mess is entirely my fault, just need a little help choosing from the lesser of the two evils: Chance it that the six-month validity isn't an issue or apply for a passport renewal abroad and move the visa stamp over.

Cheers!

Greg