Water Pump Problems

ehs818

I have no experience with water pumps for a house, but mine has had two problems recently that no one I've asked seems to know about. The first is that the pump seems to be on, or idling constantly, yet no water is going anywhere. The second is something called short cycling and that was due to the pump having not been primed properly. Got the second one under partial control, but unsure why the first problem exists. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'd really like someone to refer me to a competent technician or plumber who could address these concerns.... THANKS.post-14796-0-67832100-1432691854_thumb.jpost-14796-0-67832100-1432691854_thumb.j

As you say you solved the short cycle problem having hard time understanding how it can be on all the time as that other statement seems to say it goes on/off normally.

But if you mean it often seems to be on when no water is being used that is normally leakage and best checked with an on/off valve directly after the pump before going into house system. With that off pump should get to off-pressure state and stay there. To check for leaks first place would be toilet - turn off each if you have such ability - or take off tank cover and observe both there and bowl for any water inflow. Another place is plastic hose into a water filled wash tub tap leaking and you do not seen the slow drip as under water.

As for having someone check do not know Pattaya but any pump/tank selling shop will have contacts they can send to troubleshoot - most can solve simple problems.

A pump has a pressure tank at the base. this requires air to create the pressure to get the water out of the pump.

What happens is the pressure tank fills with water & there is no room for the air, (read pressure) to push out the water.

Drain the pressure tank & re prime the pump. This will fix the problem, it is a process that should be done every few months or as required.

Cheers