"iCare": Good Apple Service Has Arrived in Thailand

nikster

Apple generally has amazing service, but in the past, some resellers here didn't really live up to that. I've had lots of bad experiences with a provider who shall remain unnamed here.

Luckily, there now is iCare. I went to the shop in Central Airport Chiang Mai with a 3 year old retina MacBook Pro. The three year extended warranty was about to expire so I wanted to get it fixed up before that. Issues:

- Stuck pixels on the screen. Said unnamed provider had previously refused to service it and told the Singapore staff that it looked like there was "physical damage". Basically lying so he didn't have to service it... oh well.

- "A" key looked damaged, middle of the letter had disappeared. I guess just from heavy use?

- Battery at 77% design capacity. No wonder after three years and more than 700 load cycles, but Apple guarantees it to be over 80% so I thought why not do that too.

After a short wait a very friendly lady looked at the computer. She said the screen would definitely be replaced, keyboard and battery they'd have to look into. The technician said they'd have to keep it for 2 weeks. I had already arranged to borrow a friend's computer so that was OK with me.

Then she wanted my account password. My drive is encrypted and I didn't want to give her access to all my data. She asked the tech, and he said he didn't need the password. So, no password.

Three days later I get a call: Ready for pick-up!

Replaced: Screen, keyboard, and battery. As luck would have it, replacing the screen actually replaces the entire top case, and replacing the keyboard replaces the entire bottom case. So I have a brand new laptop. My data was left alone too.

So this is iCare.

Compared to an official Apple store in Berkeley which I tried last year, this was better. Berkeley wouldn't even see me without appointment, and they also said it would probably take a week to fix (if they accepted it)