Teaching in Chiang Mai without a TESOL etc

coincambodia

Hello everyone. I am planning a trip to Chiang Mai from Cambodia and wanted to know how difficult it is to obtain a teaching position without "certificates." I have a BS in MIS and 6 years experience teaching in Cambodia.

I have a Bitcoin-themed cafe in Phnom Penh and a nascent pepper business that I'll be working on expanding from Thailand. I'm looking forward to getting plugged in with other entrepreneurs in Chiang Mai but I would prefer to have some income along the way. I'd love some insight from other teachers.

Please give me feedback, good or bad. I'm looking forward to a change of scenery. Thanks!

Your best bet is do a CELTA here in Thailand before you look for work. They're pretty cheap here and once you're done; you're a graduate with the required paperwork - which means you can look for jobs at any school.

TA in CELTA stands for Teaching Adults. Most teaching in Thailand is in formal schools teaching children. The CELTA is a highly respected training course and makes you a very effective language school teacher. It's also the most recognizable certificate if you wish to travel to other parts of the world to teach Adults.

OP

With 6 years of teaching experience under your belt, you won't need a TEFL/CELTA/TESOL certificate to find work. Most schools are actively looking for teachers now ready for the start of the academic year in May. You need to be here though and visit schools.

Edited by Loaded

These are great comments, thanks a lot.

I was considering doing a CELTA course so if anyone wants to solicit me for a program then please send me a message. I realize I could learn a lot from it but I'm an excellent teacher by now so it would merely be an expensive formality.

I'm more focused on my businesses at the moment so is anyone able to get away with teaching hourly or doing private classes? Are the schools just as zealous for certs with part-timers/hourly?