Kitchen Garden - Tomatoes Not Looking Good

Started a kitchen garden and the beans, squash, cucumbers and herbs are all doing fine. The tomatoes came up and started producing but foliage drooping and some fruits rotting on the vine. I think they need more shade and perhaps more drainage now that the rains started. I also have read that they do better in winter. But the markets are full of good tomatoes and they have to come from somewhere in this season. Any tips on summer tomatoes in Thailand?

I am by no means an expert on this topic, but from what I've read about tomatoes and my own hands-on experience growing them in the back garden, they seem to prefer a good watering once every 5 to 7 days. Then a dry spell followed a week or so later by another good watering.

They don't like being constantly moist or in wet soil.

You could try protecting a few plants from the rain by covering them with a large plastic sheet just to see what, if any, difference this makes.

In addition to this, the soil and pH values might not be suitable for tomatoes.

Good luck.

PS You might find more detailed advice in this thread:

http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/874479-growing-tomatoes-in-thailand/

Edited by djayz

Check the underside of leaves for red spider mite and check the main plant stem just below the soil level for cut worms or rot

Soapy water sprayed on & under the leaves will help reduce the mites if they haven't done too much damage yet. You'll probably have to repeat that if you see them.

Tomato plants can grow roots above those that exist when you first transplant them. If you put some newspaper around the stem and draw up soil it may put off cut worms and help the plant increase the number of roots available to support the plant ... assuming they're still fairly young.

spider-mites-on-tomato.jpg

tomato_cutworm.jpgp135a.gif

Edited by Suradit69

Some of the advice on this page applies more to European gardening conditions than here in TH.