Do i really need an Edu Degree?

I've been teaching in Thailand for many years. I have a wp and a degree in English. My last 2 year waiver stated i need an education qualification to renew. I'm 53 years old and I think I'm a good teacher of English. I've only had 2 schools since I've been here. Are they really going to enforce the education degree on those of us that have been here a while and are doing a good job? I don't/won't study again at my age but i do want to continue teaching for a few more years. I'm sure there are others like me; what are you going to do/have done?

1 hour ago, theguyfromanotherforum said:

I was always under impression that Education degree is only required for certain schools (government schools?).

Don't quote me on that as I am not a teacher, it's just something I picked up from "another" now defunct forum.

I used to work in a government school but for the last two years i've worked in a Thai private school.  I'll just wait and see what happens! Licence/visa will run out Nov 17  a lot could happen before then! lol

Private or government schools providing P1-M6 education fall under the OBEC. Schools falling under the supervision of the OBEC have to comply with rules set by The Teachers' Council of Thailand in regards to their teachers. Main rule is, Thai and foreign teachers must hold a degree in education or equivalent.

10 minutes ago, aidenai said:

Private or government schools providing P1-M6 education fall under the OBEC. Schools falling under the supervision of the OBEC have to comply with rules set by The Teachers' Council of Thailand in regards to their teachers. Main rule is, Thai and foreign teachers must hold a degree in education or equivalent.

Thanks adenai..........................I understand and this is what i have been told   It's a shame that as I am a native speaker and I have degree in English this doesn't appear to be good enough to teach English in Thailand????

1 minute ago, gunnerterry said: