Locations for Teaching in Thailand.

So in April I'm taking the big plunge and going from teaching in England, to teaching in Thailand. I currently teach Physical Education as well as supply teaching at an Independent School, holding a University Degree in something not quite related to education. I'm going to be doing a TEFL Course in Koh Samui during April, I know it's not a neccessity in Thailand but I feel having that hands on experience within the country will boost my CV more. Now I've been visiting Koh Samui for over 10 years with my family (I'm 22 years old) , I like to see it as a second home and I have many friends who live out here. Unfortunatley I've lodged this notion into my head that teaching in Koh Samui would be a dream come true, not because it's like a holiday (I know it won't be), but because it's a place I've been fond of for so many years.

I plan on finishing the TEFL course and going door to door of all the schools in the hope that there is a job avaliable. I know that this is a long shot as teaching jobs on an tropical island are near impossible to get, so I have been trying to create a plan B. Obviously Bangkok looks like the best second option, lots of jobs avaliable, fantastic night-life and lots to do on the weekends, but could you guys recommend any other locations in Thailand for Teaching, that have just been perfect for you?. For me, I would love a place where I would never be in my apartment on the weekend andI'm not being stared at for being the only farang in town etc. A lot of people reccomend Phuket, but then again isn't that just a tourist place where every man and his dog want to spend a year out teaching?

I've been offerd a job in May in Surat Thani, any-one taught there before? Should I prepare myself for the idea that I could come to Thailand for the 3 months I will be there and not even land a teaching job at all !?