OUCH! Imported TOY DRONE stuck in Thai Customs since Dec 21st!!

Jimbo in Thailand

Hi folks,

Gotta problem hopefully someone here can help me with.  First, let me say that I've been living in Isaan in Roi Et for 11+ years now.   I'm a USAF veteran and was stationed at Ubon RTAFB during the Vietnam War in '72-'73 so I'm not new to the fact that some Thais struggle with common sense situations.  OK, here's the long sad story...

Recently I ordered a toy (borderline hobby grade) quadcopter, a Hubsan H501S, that has FPV camera and GPS.  GPS gives it a wonderful return-to-home failsafe feature.  At the same time I also ordered a tiny aerobatic drone and some accessories.  The total was just shy of $300 USD.  Sadly, this package has been stuck in Thai Customs at Suwannaphoom airport since Dec 21st.  For some reason they apparently think this $219 USD toy/hobby-grade drone is somehow a national threat so they refuse to release it.  TNT, the shipping company, has been trying to help get this resolved.  Unfortunately, they haven't been able to help.  My Thai gf and I have been jumping through hoops searching and emailing Thai law supporting documents that Customs has asked for, and still no joy.  The latest news today is I now have to get the Thai Army's approval.  OMG, it's a freakin' toy drone!

What's insane is that it doesn't matter that much larger, more powerful, much more advanced, longer-range models are sold here, such as DJI Phantoms and the recent Mavic Pro.  It's even more insanely frustrating since this identical Hubsan model is already offered on Lazada and that some hobby shops already sell it in Thailand; facts I've already pointed out to them.  No matter what, they simply won't budge.  I've even asked them to send it back to the vendor and I'll pay the shipping charges.  They refuse, saying if I can't get the problem resolved within 74 days they'll simply dispose of it, so looks like I'm screwed.