Proof of Freelance Income with Visitor Visa

Hey all,

I was hoping someone wiser than myself would be able to help with a couple of questions about a UK sponsored visitor visa application.

Firstly, as I will be financing this trip I will provide proof of funds in a bank account - is it better to put all of this in one account? Is that necessary?

More importantly, I work as a freelance journalist, and my freewheelin' lifestyle takes me between Thailand and the UK.

I have occasionally completed pieces of work while in the Kingdom (on a tourist visa) and have done so a fair bit over the past few months while I have been here living mostly off savings.

I am aware this is a legal grey area, so will it be damaging to mention it on the Visa application?

Perhaps my professional life won't be that much of an issue if I can provide proof of sufficient funds to finance a trip to the UK (20k GBP)?

thanks very much for anyone kind enough to help,

Cheers

K

11 hours ago, SentimentalGentleman said:

Firstly, as I will be financing this trip I will provide proof of funds in a bank account - is it better to put all of this in one account? Is that necessary?

No, it does not matter if the funds for the trip are in more than one account.

But you do need to provide evidence that you have the funds. If the money in one account is sufficient, then just statements from that account; if using money from more than one account, then provide statements for all those you are using.

11 hours ago, SentimentalGentleman said:

Perhaps my professional life won't be that much of an issue if I can provide proof of sufficient funds to finance a trip to the UK (20k GBP)?

As rasg says, as you will be funding the trip from your savings, there is no need to provide any evidence of your income. Though you should mention your work and travels in your sponsor's letter.

So your gonna tell the Thai consul You worked illegally in Thailand?