Red number plate restrictions

P100

Does anyone know the actual situation with red number plates? If I buy a motorbike I get a red number and can use it until the white number arrives. But are there any restrictions? I would like to travel outside of the city for a 2 weeks trip. Is that ok given that the motor bike will attract attention of police all the way. Thaks

Edited by P100

50 minutes ago, Blue Muton said:

You should get a booklet with it, you should fill in travel details if you intend going out of your province, failure to do so could result in a fine.

the purpose of the trip is not restricted? regular use is possible day and night?

57 minutes ago, P100 said:

the purpose of the trip is not restricted? regular use is possible day and night?

I'm not an expert, but going by what we were told by three different dealerships:

the purpose of the trip is not restricted?             No.

regular use is possible?                                      Yes.

day and night?                                                 As far as I recall although I tend to avoid driving at night wherever possible anyway.

54 minutes ago, P100 said:

Only know about car/truck, fill out a book as said of destination and you can't drive after dark. 

Remember something about toll ways but that don't apply to bikes anyway.

• Like 2

Theoretically with a red plate you may not drive after dark, not leave the province, have to write your trips into a book and maybe some other things.

But in reality nobody cares much about it. Maybe in places like Pattaya or Phuket this could be a problem if they want your money. If you are somewhere else never mind.

So far i've bought two new bikes in Thailand (a big and a small one), didn't get a red plate, so i was driving arround without a license plate before i had the white plate.