Air purifier/oxygen concentrator

Maybole

My wife is recovering in hospital from a kidney infection followed by pneumonia. She is ready to go home but the hospital is reluctant to release her until I obtain an oxygen concentrator and install it in her bedroom. I consider this an overkill but I am not a medical expert.

What is the opinion of members with medical knowledge?

This is impossible to say as it depends on specifics of her medical condition: her oxygenation levels both on oxygen and on room air, the condition of her lungs as seen on Xray etc.

This is not something hospitals often require, there must be a reason for it.

If her oxygenation is still iffy enough to need O2 at home then she should also have a pulse oximeter to monitor O2 levels.

• Thumbs Up 1

16 hours ago, Maybole said:

until I obtain an oxygen concentrator and install it in her bedroom.

They are available on Lazada, just plug it in. Many different sizes from 7k to 22k, our local gov. hospital loaned me one. Is she in a private hospital?

download(12).jpg.5f41b272708c94ed020e0f3cebae52aa.jpgthis one is about 17-20k

Her Blood oxygen levels are consistently 97-98%. I can understand the need for a particulate filter.

She was taken to a private hospital at our daughter's insistence in spite of being well treated and recovering well in the local hospital. Our local hospital seems to be on a par with NHS hospitals in Scotland.

• Like 1

13 hours ago, Sheryl said:

On room air? Or on oxygen? (If on oxygen what is it off the oxygen?)

I have no Idea. She was attached to a monitor which was fed from her finger and she was not wearing the nebuliser all the time.

On 12/12/2023 at 10:17 PM, Maybole said:

Her Blood oxygen levels are consistently 97-98%.

dang... is that with the finger gauge?

mine are 89-93. sometimes i am lucky and hit 96... i have copd

best of luck...