Any meetups anymore?

grumpyoldman

53 minutes ago, G_Money said:

Kicking myself in the nuts would be my choice.

This sort post and all the other similar style display why previous attempts at 'get-togethers' fail. As an original mod of the very old phuket.com I was asked to arrange a get together of members who were mostly tourist visitor. I found that while folks back then chatty on the forum, but get togethers where stale and with much silence.

A never attended the early annual Thai Visa gatherings in Phuket due to location and driving considerations. First I attended was when a Kata venue was selected so I attended. It was well attended but with little inter mingling. Just a lot of cliques old chums having free drinks. As a newbie I was just happy to go home. I believe that was  the last Phuket meeting 2006 I would guess. After that Phuket members could not agree on a location for the next year and that was the end of it.

About then all the other regional gathering just fizzled away.

Edited by LivinginKata
typos
  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Thanks 1

Used to go to a few Nanaplaza.com meetings, 1999-2005 as it turned out I wish I had never heard of them, I avoid all foreigners in person since then. I was extorted by a bar owing advertiser on there, my wife was threatened and followed home from work with attempts made to find her room number, the usual threats about immigration, blacklisting and violence. In those days many knew each other real names, not a good idea. Happily the bar owner was shot dead 2 years ago after gunning down his ex and business partner.

• Haha 2

10 hours ago, grumpyoldman said:

Back in the day of TVisa, we had some meetups. Everybody gets past the nic, and put a handshake and face to things. Skippers sports club, previously we had over the line softball games.

Be in town first week of March, Xylo, whoever posters, Jungceylon pub(?), Xy, your call? Be happy to buy couple rounds of drinks for posters.