craighj

I've posted this in the Issan forum, I'm not certain maybe I should have posted here.

Hi guys

My name is Craig and I'm a Newbie to this forum.

I'm travel to Mukdahan in a weeks time to see a friend.

I have a couple of questions, maybe someone can help?

I have an international drivers licence, can you rent a car in Mukdahan?

What are Taxi's like there, easy to get, cost, etc.

Where can a fella get a good beer in Mukdahan, are there any places someone would recommend?

Are there any reasonable places to eat, would someone be able to recommend a place?

I'm staying at the Ploy Palace, I believe this is OK.

If there is anyone interested in having a beer and a chat, please let me know I would be happy to hear about local experiences.

Craig :o

>I have an international drivers licence, can you rent a car in Mukdahan?

I'm sure you could, however I doubt there is much choice, you would probably be getting something via the hotel. If you are safe on the road I would suggest getting a car from Bangkok or Pattaya and enjoy the countryside as you drive up there, it would take about a day.

>What are Taxi's like there, easy to get, cost, etc.

Mukdahan is not a big place, you will not find Bangkok style taxis cruisin' the streets looking for a fare. There are enough motorcy taxis and a normal number of Songthaews (neither a Bangkok or Pattaya excess) for local use. You are more likely to pay the local rates rather than be ripped off.

>Where can a fella get a good beer in Mukdahan, are there any places someone would recommend?

Some tourist focused places to eat/drink dotted around town, I don't recall anything special.

>Are there any reasonable places to eat, would someone be able to recommend a place?