Teaching/tutoring Math And Science

heybruce

Does anyone know how I can find a job teaching or tutoring math and science, preferably in the Chiang Mai area? I've been teaching English for six months and I enjoy it, but with degrees in Math and Engineering I don't feel like I'm teaching my area of expertise. I'm teaching to stay busy and useful; the pay is a small fraction of my retirement income, so I can be flexible on pay and hours. However I can also afford to be picky--I want to teach small classes of motivated students. I know there is a market for this kind of thing becauses some of my students are getting tutored in math, but I think these classes are arranged through their schools. I tried searching ThaiVisa but couldn't find anything. Any suggestions?

If your degree is in Math then you should be applying to International schools as a SUBJECT teacher. Assuming of course you are qualified to actually teach.

Private classes do tend to be obtained by word of mouth and experience in Thailand.

You say you have students who are being tutored privately in Math? Why don,t you ask them how they arrived at this?

Edited by Manchester

As Loaded has often said, and it applies especially to Chiang Mai, it's a matter of networking and word of mouth. One tutor quits and somebody new inherits her work. If the new tutor is good, it spreads through that ethnic grapevine (Thai, international school parents, Thai school, Japanese, etc.). Of course, tutoring won't get you an applicable work permit.

As somebody has suggested, try to get a new position, teaching math or science in an English Program, or a bilingual or even international school, if you can. There's more demand and far less supply for math and science teachers than for English teachers. Part time work (if that's all you want) will also make it hard for getting a work permit, but if they want you, they can get you a WP.