Road Rage!

onnut

I have been driving in Bangkok for 5 years now and still get bouts of road rage, or at least work up a sweat without actually doing anything about it.

Today for example a small thing happened and I was left fuming, not to mention anything about my wife telling me off as well. I was driving towards Onnut from central Bangkok and had to stop at the lights, loads of bikes came around and stopped in front of my car like normal and when the lights turned red everyone rode or drove off as usual, but one bike stayed in the outside lane, the same one as me. So I politely followed him until I realized he was just going to stay there, then I flashed him, he did not see so I flashed again and he still did not see so I gave the tiniest beep of the horn so not to startle him but let him know I was there and he looked around but stayed there. Now there was plenty of room for him to move over to the other lane with the other bikes but he did not want to. He just stayed in the outside lane braking and swerving to annoy me. So I waited and stayed behind him until there was a gap in the other lane and drove around him, but the guy then sped up to try and keep me in that lane, so then I got very :) and just turned into the lane, regardless of where he was. Very stupid I know but luckily for the pair of us he must off guessed what I was going to do and came around the back of my car and then sped off after giving me the finger. As soon as he went, I drove very calmly again as if nothing was wrong.

I know I should of stayed calm and just kept behind him until he turned off or I had to but I just don’t understand why some people do stuff like this.

What experiences have you had with road rage and more importantly how have you tried to handle it without flying of the handle?