Which Linux Is The Best For Me?

coalminer

I am totally fed up with the whole MicroShit and want to clean up my HD and install another Operating System.

I am not a total newbie on using Operating Systems and I have been using a lot of Operating Systems in the past years.

Many of them on the same hard-disk and switched between them a lot of times in one day.

I have been looking around, and the numbers of Linux releases are many.

Ubuntu and it's variants, Red Hat, Suse, Solaris (Sun), Debian and even the Apple Leopard for PC's.

I have a laptop with 1 GB of RAM (expandable to 8 GB) and a relatively large hardisk (500 GB)

I would like to know from Linux users which is the best version of Linux and why.

TIA

Would just suggest that you first download and run a few Live cd's to get the feel of the different distributions. Compare the Gnome and KDE desktops, and maybe Xfce. Then, install a few programs and play with the package managers.

Linux is made up of choice. So much so, that there are hundreds of distributions and derivatives. Every user has a different need. But, there is usually a distribution to fit that. Ubuntu has both a Christian Linux and Satanic Linux. Not kidding.

And, even though your recent laptop will run a demanding distribution, you might find that even a minimalist distribution would seek a home on its hard drive.

And, even though I'm a Ubuntu user, that has not always been the case. My user needs change as with everything else.

One other suggestion; Linux will boot from a USB drive. Of course, Windows will not. Simply, you can conveniently do away with any dual boot problems this way.

Good luck.

Would just suggest that you first download and run a few Live cd's to get the feel of the different distributions. Compare the Gnome and KDE desktops, and maybe Xfce. Then, install a few programs and play with the package managers.