Archiving

penzman

I'm fairly new to archiving files, I've owned a cd burner for a year only.

I've recently lost database backups, whole website archive, vacation pics stored on different brands of cd's. Some were stored on Memorex cd's, others on Primco(junk) cd's. Some folders can be read but others are just impossible to open.

I've noticed some spots on some of the cd's that look like corrosion when you hold them to a light, you can actually see right through it.

I know I could always archive on HDD and server side but I know even that can go wrong. The only thing I can think of now is to make two copies of everything...

Can something be done to a cd to make it scratch resistant?

Can anyone recommend another safer way of archiving?

Use high qualify CD's for long term storage and make sure not to put labels on them (glue is known to be bad news for data).

Check CD when you make to be sure data got written.

Keep is good storage conditions if possible.

Making several copies is always a good idea, and keeping them in different locations - the cost is not that much for the amount most people should be concerned about.

Believe on line storage is cheap and an extra hard drive is always a good idea.

This all from someone who rarely backs anything up (have nothing - nothing to lose). :o

I'm fairly new to archiving files, I've owned a cd burner for a year only.

I've recently lost database backups, whole website archive, vacation pics stored on different brands of cd's. Some were stored on Memorex cd's, others on Primco(junk) cd's. Some folders can be read but others are just impossible to open.

I've noticed some spots on some of the cd's that look like corrosion when you hold  them to a light, you can actually see right through it.

I know I could always archive on HDD and server side but I know even that can go wrong. The only thing I can think of now is to make two copies of everything...