Ubon Ratchatani

kempos

Hi guys;

Could you please give me some info on Ubon?

Nightlife, shops, people.

Also info on how much it costs to rent a house with a garden (not a townhouse!).

Thanx

Well doesn't look like any reponses, I'm far from an expert I've only been there once. But I do know there is a night life, but probably like Udon it will take time to find it, not in your face like tourist places. Other foriegners do live there I met a few. Housing again probably like Udon, you will have to search out good deals and negoiate. There are very few rental agencies in Issan and you can beat thier deals driving around nieghborhoods and asking people.

If it is like Udon and it probably is, 3500 to 6000 Baht a month for A LONG TERM RENTAL. Keep in mind more then likley you are going to have to make some improvements to bring it up to farrang standards. Just be careful if you are in that situation to have written agreement that you are going to remove what you install. What I did on my last rental (two year written lease) I paid 5k up front for any damages caused by removal of things such as aircon, UBC ect., this was also done in writing. What I like about it I have a fixed cost and no grey area about what I'm going to do when I leave. Thais like it because they get more money up front.

Hi guys;

Also info on how much it costs to rent a house with a garden (not a townhouse!).

Thanx

I visit Ubon sometimes for shopping, don't know the prices of houses or what the nightlife is like. There are others in this forum who know more, maybe Marco will give you some more information. You can also find more info of a similar nature in some older threads in the forum.

Ubon has BigC, Lotus, some big building supplies shops. Sorry not much info but something to get you started...