Can A Foreigner Buy A Car With Financing?

mdotinc

Hi!

I am currently living and working in phuket with my girlfriend(she is from Issan). Can I buy a car on financing from a used dealer? Do dealerships/banks offer financing to foreigners?

Also; if not, could my girlfriend get financing in provinces other than her hometown?

Thanks

I think you can if you have a W/P and a credible bank account where you can show them statements going back quite a while.

However, I am not an expert in this matter, maybe someone else who has had experience with this will pop in later and clarify

If your G/F get's the finance the car will have to be in her name. Little tiff no G/F no car. Good game A. Shoudn't be a problem getting finance but they will ask for a bigger down payment because your a Farang. Sometime's 50%

Edited by fredob43

I think you can if you have a W/P and a credible bank account where you can show them statements going back quite a while.

However, I am not an expert in this matter, maybe someone else who has had experience with this will pop in later and clarify

yes foreigners can Finance car and have Thai creditcard.

Display your cash flow through Thai bankaccounts to Finance company, and they will tell you how much down is needed. Expect a Thai guarantor to be required for your first car and also later cars if they are 4x4 pickups.

Most easy finance in Phuket is Tanachart bank, and they run a clean business

WP and/or married to a Thai makes Financing more easy to obtain. I am neither, but still have my third car financed in my name

Often down and monthly payments are lower on a brand new car, due to lower interest and not much difference in price, so suggest having a look at new cars as well. Nissan March from 400k and Toyota Vios from 550k baht in the lower end of new cars market

thanks...im really looking to spend as little as possible! Im going to have a baby in 5 months and I need safe transportation...and im on a major budget!