Ducks - Food And Eggs

patongphil

Sorry but I am completely new at this so please bear with me.

we have 18 girl ducks and 3 boys. All the girls are Pekins as well as one of the boys. Anyway we get an average of about 16 eggs a day which I believe is pretty good. We keep them in their "house" most of the day and all night with a light on. They get about 2 hours a day for a paddle and scratch around the dam of about half a rai.

Feed wise we go through about 2 and a half bags of duck food - for egg laying ducks a month. Recently we have started giving them LAM mixed with water as well.

Well questions

1) Are we doing the right thing with a light on all night.

2) Can we reduce or replace the amount of feed as just gone up again to 490 baht per bag

3) Is LAM a good food for them.

4) Would it be better to let them out for longer each day

5) What about the ratio of boys and girls and the mix of only one Pekin and 2 who knows what but very nice looking black ducks who I often see doing the business.

Thanks for any help and/or advice

Phil

• Like 1

Can you post me some of your eggs :)

Just finishing off building my incubator now...

Personally, I would let them out to free range more. I like my birds to be out all day, don't like to keep them locked up. I never put lighting on but then I don't have laying chickens, mainly ducks, some geese and a mix of turkey and guinea fowl.

Can you post me some of your eggs smile.png

Personally, I would let them out to free range more. I like my birds to be out all day, don't like to keep them locked up. I never put lighting on but then I don't have laying chickens, mainly ducks, some geese and a mix of turkey and guinea fowl.

Carlos,did you make the incubator yourself?

Phil,am not too sure about the light being on all night in the duck shed,but here is maybe an idea for you.