Buying A Condo

I am contemplating buying a condo somewhere, maybe Chiang Mai, maybe somewhere in Isan. I don't particularly need something up-market or "only for farangs"; local standard is fine. In other words, I don't really want something only advertised on internet sites dedicated to farang buyers.

I could pay around 30,000 US$. I am new to this and just getting started with the idea. Could anybody out there share their experiences with me?

1. Is buying a condo a hassle? Is it easy to get swindled?

2. Can you get something nice for 30,000 USD?

3. Do you automatically get some sort of visa if you own a condo?

4. Is it easy to sublet the condo? I wouldn't plan on living in it for a few more years. I would continue to live outside of Thailand.

Thanks for any advice.

1. You must use money certified from outside Thailand and follow the rules - not a big deal in tourist areas but could be in less informed regions. FYI: most Thai equate condo to bird house and would not consider living in one if their income allows anything else/or they have to be in center of city. Yes, it is very easy to be taken in any real estate deal but usually amounts are minor if you do your homework.

2. Yes. But that of course depends on what you consider nice and where you purchase.

3. No.

4. If price is right not too much of a problem - but remember rents are extremely low here and few Thai want to live in a condo.

1. You do not need to be a resident to buy.

2. I believe a quote by a government official was along the lines that they were fit only for foreigners and mosquitos. :o