Why Is The Food So Very Good In Thailand?

OldChinaHam

One thing puzzles me.

I have been eating in several countries in Asia for many years, about 40.

And, I do know what it is like to live on the local fare.

I never eat foreign food in Thailand, or Taiwan, or Japan.

I never eat non-Chinese food in HK.

Sometimes I will eat Indian food in HK, but I do not regard that as foreign food because there are so many Indians living in the Mansion, or used to live there.

I have had Vindaloo in BKK, but that was not foreign either. Vindaloo is not native to India, really.

So, it really is true that out of all these places, the best food you can find is Thai food.

Why is that?

I could eat Thai food for the rest of my life and never feel the hankering to eat anything else.

Why do we all love Thai food so much.

And why does it taste so good.

And why is it so varied in its flavors that you actually could live the rest of your life on Thai food and still never feel deprived.

WHY I SAY!

Why?

(very happy to be in Thailand)

Edited by OldChinaHam
  • Like 2

used to get hankerings for baked beans before tops stocked the malaysian brand. sometimes for rolled oats too. potato chips still an absolute necessity but 7 has tastos so no problem there. tinned tuna fish is a farang copy too. moo burgers. ham&cheese toasties, all theses farang food compliment my thai street food and would be sorely missed if not available. milk, and coffee occasionally to. but yes thai food is good after you find a farang friendly place to buy it.

I think Chinese food when you consider the regional variations is quite a bit more varied and interesting than Thai food ...

Yes, it IS more varied with more diverse regions. And if you mean interesting as in "live in interesting times", then sometimes Chinese food can be very interesting.

But if I had to choose a cuisine to live on for the rest of my life without possibility to change, then it must be Thai food.]