I Need a Bank Account in or near Amnat Charoen

- I am on a Retirement Visa, using the B 800,000 money in the bank method. I have been doing this for a few years now.

- I am contemplating moving to a location within the Amnat Charoen Immigration District

- Today. I went into a local branch of a bank I have dealt with for 16 yrs. (I am a "long-timer"; having lived continuously in Thailand for longer than that.)

The bank in question said that they would not open a new acct. for me as I don't have a Work Permit, and don't own the property where I plan to reside.

Neither of these conditions is likely to change in the foreseeable future.

This will force me to continue to use my account(s) in Bangkok, while residing in mid-Isaan, and dealing with the Immigration office in Amnat Charoen. It

isn't an issue at present, as I have just renewed my one year visa. But I can foresee trouble a year from now, given the long distance between Amnat Charoen

and Bangkok.

- So, does anyone have a recommendation for a bank in or near Amnat Charoen which would likely be friendly to someone in my position ? If you have the name of a

particular indididual, so much the better. I speak Thai well enough to speak with almost anyone; there is no requirement that the person speak English.

You were asking about a passbook savings account and they would not open because you do not own your home? That makes no sense at all. Even the work permit spell is not valid for anything but saving them the time. But if you were asking your bank to open an account at another branch it starts to make sense - you go to the new branch and open account - then close Bangkok account and deposit money there. I suspect same parent bank will be happy to get your account and if not use another. Each branch of bank here is independently run so they are not helpful for transfers or moving to another branch.

Are you married to a Thai?

If yes she should be able to act as your guarantor to open an account.