Easy Question

I have been coming to Thailand for 26 years and have been a member of this forum since 2005 but this is the first time I have needed to ask a visa question because I usually have all that worked out before I come. This time however, in order to get a very good airfare, and because I wanted to leave right away, I simply came and received a 30 day visa exemption stamp.

1.) I am an American 58 years old.
2.) My visa exemption will expire at the end of next week.
3.) Can I simply fly to Yangon (or anywhere else outside Thailand) stay one night, fly back and get another 30 day exemption stamp?
4.) I have no interest in a 10 day extension, especially with the trouble around Cheang Wattana.

Sorry to trouble you guys with a question whose answer I should know but as stated earlier I usually have more time and get a regular tourist visa before I come but that was not possible this time due to time restraints.

Any recommmendations on which city to fly to? I mentioned Yangon because it is the closest and cheapest (cheapest I think), but I will consider anywhere that others can recommend as being quick and cheap too. All I plan on doing is flying in, staying overnight in a hotel and flying back the next day. I'm not looking to make a holiday out of this.

Thanks in advance.

Groongthep

Since you are from the US you can now do a border run and get a new 30 day entry. Just leave and return within minutes if you want.

If you fly out and back on the same day you will get a 30 entry also.

The problem with flying to Yangon is that you have to get a visa in advance.

You can fly to KL Malaysia on Air Asia or any low cost carrier. There is no visa fee for there.

One of the simplest way to get a new 30 day visa exemption is to fly to KL, go through immigration/customs and walk to the other side of the terminal and check in to a flight back to DM. No visa fees, many flight options and quick.

Edited by asiaexpat