Getting better dividends than fixed deposit accounts in Thailand

Hello...

I am a rather novice investor, aged 33. I have money invested in mutual funds through Aberdeen that do not pay dividends and I also have money invested through Kasikorn Bank that pay 2.85%/annually. I would like to see annual dividends of around 5% on money invested in Thailand. Any ideas for a secure investment that would be suitable?

Cheers.

UOB (formerly ING) has a fund called Big Cap Dividend LTF.

As the name suggests it invests in large cap Thai stocks paying divs. It s historic yields have been above 5%each year.

Although an LTF which you can tax relief on a non tax payer can also buy just like any Thai mutual fund. Just that like other non LTFs you get no tax relief.

Capital gains are tax free.

For divs you can elect to pay a flay 10% or be taxed at your Thai marginal rate of tax.

That leads into why you need divs as mutual funds paying them can cause you a small extra tax charge.

Instead you can sell a small number of units in a non div paying fund to generate 5%. Bit more admin but more tax efficient.

Most of my Thai mutual funds dont pay a div and I sell a few if I want "income". Thai Big Cap is an exception.

I believe the xd date to get the div from the ING fund is 31 May but you shiuld check on their website if interested.

BTW yield on the SET index is around 3%. This achieves higher by focusing on big caps with good divs

Cheers

Fletch:)

Sent from my GT-I9152 using Thaivisa Connect Thailand mobile app

Edited by fletchsmile
  • Like 1

Any ideas for a secure investment that would be suitable?

They key word here is "secure". Once you move beyond bank deposits you take on more risk. And broadly speaking, the higher the return, the greater the risk to your capital. (The higher return is required to compensate investors for the greater risk they are taking on.)