3bb info needed

jim101

Hello

This is my first post and I'm pretty new to Thailand, only been here a couple of months.

I'm about to rent a little house about 2km north of the moat in Chiang Mai. 3bb is the provider used by the last couple of tenants. I need a good connection that supports VOIP. The router looks very old ( I took the model number but deleted from my notes! and wont be back in CM till I move in in four weeks time).

What hardware/router do I need to ensure they install and what package do i need from them.

Grateful for any help, thanks

Jim.

I live to the south of CM about 7km out of town and have been using 3BB for 2.5 years without any real issues. I am on their cheaper package which is 590 baht per month and works fine for VOIP, skype etc. Personally I wouldn't get a router from 3BB but go into town and buy a good quality one and use that. They may want you to pay a year in advance if you are putting it in your name as opposed to your landlord.

• Like 1

I agree with not getting a 3bb router, I have replaced my router for a better one (asus in this case) and it has helped a lot with connection more stable and more download speed. The newer and more expensive routers have more memory and faster processors, that can come in handy when there is a lot of internet traffic.

• Like 1

I will guess with high confidence that any router provided by any Thai ISP will be built to the 802.11g spec, which is not a bad one. And when you sign up as a new customer, your should get a new one. It will be OK, but it just will not be the best one now available for signal strenght and converage. You might consider either bringing a 802.11ac spec router with you, if you are coming from the U.S., say, or buying one here at a slightly higher price.