Will I get new ED Visa? If not, can I come back to get my stuff?

I need to go abroad to get a new ED visa in November.

1) With the recent changes, I'm worried they might not give me a new visa because I've been doing this for so many years. I have been on ED visas for 8 or 9 years, mostly studying Thai with 2 years Russian in the middle. At first, I studied hard and learned how to speak and write Thai. But recently I've been really lazy with my studies and am very rusty. I'm worried that they might just refuse me because I've done so many years already, or because I can't answer their informal "test" questions in Thai very well. I am practicing now, so hoping that will help.

2) If they don't give me a visa, I wonder if they'll let me come back to Thailand for a few weeks to get my things and settle my affairs.

I have been on ED visas for 8 or 9 years, mostly studying Thai ...
I'm worried that they might just refuse me because ... I can't answer their informal "test" questions in Thai very well.

How many more years were you planning to be a "student?"

The word "incredible" keeps coming to mind ... asdf_rules and UK_rules in the same thread ... but ultimately maybe Immigrations_rules will prevail.

Edited by Suradit69
  • Like 2

Come on man...you are in Thai country, taking years of classes, and you are 'rusty'? You should be practicing Thai every day!

I'm not usually one to side with the hard core conservative guys on here, but if I live in a country for going on a decade I would show my appreciation to my adopted culture and learn the native language. I would practice it every day and not expect everyone to speak to me in English.

I guess I just don't see how it was humanely possible to LOSE thai speaking ability while one is in Thailand.