Stroke not great Christmas present

Daniel Boon

First off, I am not a doctor.

On December 17, my wife and I were traveling Naconchair bus from Pattaya to Surin; we just entered Burri Ram when a German bloke made some wheezing noises, to the best of my knowledge, he was having or just had a stroke.

I cannot speak German (he couldn't speak at all); however, people sitting 'next' to him (German man and his Thai wife), didn't know him, nobody did.

Anyway, as I had assisted a Thai lady of the bus (with steel rods in her leg, for some reason the Thai / German lady thought I knew something; she had losened his belt and asked me to unbutton his jeans (he had peed himself), so I did.

My Thai wife speaks a little English and translated into Thai and the Thai lady spoke some German, but the only thing active about this bloke was his eyes and with remnants of control he had, trying to get up. I looked at his imobile left arm and side and his dropping mouth on one side and deduced he had had a stroke, by this time - trying to communicate with the Thai stewards and her with the drive, they thought it best to proceed to Surin hospital.

Anyone aware of a stroke victim would know there is a small window of opportunity for remedial assistance, to the best of my knowledge, less than half an hour and it is possible, with significant physio, to regain most of your use of the affected limbs; however, the two things against him were a) he was very much overweight and we were more than a half hour from Surin and c) competent as Surin Hospital Staff might be, but the time the ambulance got him there, it was all over red rover. It took two Ambulance Officers (one each leg) and me carrying his torso to get up from his chair and carry him to the ambulance gurney.

My wife, coincidentally, knew his Thai wife (he lives / retired in Surin), my wife told me this morning that he had died.