Buying a condo from a friend

I plan to buy a condo  very soon from a long term friend in pattaya.As a non resident I would normally have to transfer the money from my UK bank to my bank in Thailand and show the receipt to the land office when I complete the sale...this is correct ??

Is it possible to legally conduct the sale with my friend just by him transferring the property into my name(the condo is in a falang name not thai or company name) with no money transaction ?So from a legal point of view he gave it to me ?Can we do this at the land office?

Yes, you would need to show the money came from outside Thailand. The land office will want the transfer tax if the property changes hands. Otherwise everyone would be giving each other properties, exchanging money and not paying transfer tax.

The land office dont hold or handover the money, thats between buyer and seller, they just want a percentage.

In the past it was often the case that buyer and seller told the land office a low selling price and reduced tax. The land office has put a stop to outrageous low valuations, it can be a little lower, i think they tell you a figure and you are around that figure. Also your friend may need proof of sale amount from land office to export that amount of money from Thailand.

So it would be ok for my friend to transfer the condo into my name provided the transfer tax is paid.As no sale occured only a transfer of the property from him to me, i wouldnt have to provide a receipt from my bank showing any money transfer from uk to thailand?

2 minutes ago, supersomchai said:

So it would be ok for my friend to transfer the condo into my name provided the transfer tax is paid.As no sale occured only a transfer of the property from him to me, i wouldnt have to provide a receipt from my bank showing any money transfer from uk to thailand?