will the yellow book be compulsory?

1 hour ago, holy cow cm said:

Where was this at?

And why did you have to have a friend?

And did you get the yellow book that day?

It was at Pattaya town hall ,the friend was another householder and did not get the yellow book then ,but was told that we can pick it up shortly .

I have no experience of a yellow book. The opinion that everyone will need one is probably in response to Immigration law requiring the person who is in charge of the residence to report any foreigner visiting that place.  I believe that in a formal marriage in Thailand the husband has that role.  So if you are in that position then you will need to be registered. In order to make the TM30 report ‘hassle free’ you need a registration document, if that is a yellow book then you need that. 

Edited by tgeezer
  • Confused 1

16 minutes ago, bert bloggs said:

It was at Pattaya town hall ,the friend was another householder and did not get the yellow book then ,but was told that we can pick it up shortly .

Thank you. I was thinking you were inferring there had to be a witness. On the other hand, if can get with in a week or so that is ok. 

7 minutes ago, holy cow cm said:

Thank you. I was thinking you were inferring there had to be a witness. On the other hand, if can get with in a week or so that is ok. 

I did yellow book in Pattaya a couple of years ago and you needed a witness, someone with a bluebook and ID that knows you.

OP, possibly needed the same unless they changed things.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

6 minutes ago, elviajero said:

No it’s not going to happen.

If anything it would be the opposite and they would stop issuing them to foreigners with temporary permission to stay.

Immigration plan to eventually issue expats with ID style cards containing address and visa info.; when issuing long term extensions of stay. 

If thats the case, wouldn't it make sense to use the system thats already in place ?

• Thanks 1