Help With This Thai Name

engrin

Family friend has a daughter and wants to know how spell her Thai name in English.

I'm new to Thailand so not sure how the phonetics go!!

สุรีรัฐ ชว่งกลาง

Edited by engrin

Family friend has a daughter and wants to know how spell her Thai name in English.

I'm new to Thailand so not sure how the phonetics go!!

สุรีรัฐ ชว่งกลาง

Transliteration isn't an exact art but the way I would see it spelled is:

Sureerad ChuangGlang

There are, however, several different standardized transliteration systems, which i've never learned, that might be a better way to spell the above. I imagine another TV poster will know about those systems and help you out further. There are even some who've developed their own formalized transliteration systems.

Anyway, to get you started my feel for how the name would be spelled in English is above.

Hi all :D

Just a couple of 'tweaks' to the transliteration...........

สุรีรัฐ ชว่งกลาง

The second to last consonant and the final vowel of the forename (รั) ror reua, sara u - I would transliterate as ru (as in 'but')

The third to last consonant of the second name (ก) gor gai, should correctly be transliterated as the English letter 'g'

The first vowel (sara) of the first name is the short 'u' as in 'book', so I would say that it should be (transliterated) as

soo-ree-rut Chuangglang

Of course this is only my opinion, as Thai to English transliteration can be extremely frustrating - as even the 'official' version is incorrect!! (In my opinion)

A humerous aside highlighting the 'fluidity' of transliteration:

Englishman on telephone speaking to a Thai person ".....and how do you spell your name?"........(Thai person replies) "How would you like to spell it?"

I find Thai-English transliteration both fascinating and annoying!!!!! :o

Sureerut Chawongklang...... :o