Evergrande Situation

I'm no expert either, but it certainly is interesting, lamentable, and foreboding. I've been following the YouTube coverage. Angry investors protesting at the head office, screaming, breaking down at having lost everything. Most look like regular folks, persuaded into risking their life savings after being promised ridiculous returns, much like the Thai scams we hear about here. The theories of what's going on are abound, mostly involving the ties between this and the Chinese "ghost cities", property that just sits with no purpose other than speculation, shilling, and just how much of that cash sitting in their banks is actually "real", a problem now plaguing the world.

• Like 2

3 hours ago, Pravda said:

The printing presses will start working overtime, so everything that crashed in the past few days will go to the moon. That includes the absolute bottom of the barrel crypto.

this.

I feel new billions USD are going to be printed thus cryptos exchange rates will continue to rise.

• Like 1

One possible way out:

1) Allow Evergrande to collapse. They will bring many Chinese banks with them.

The shares in these banks will dramatically fall.

When the Chinese authorities think that they are at rock bottom -then the Chinese will buy them.

After some time -when the markets realize this -then the prices will rise

The Chinese  authorities will sell at peak price.

2) Assure those who have paid deposits-that their money is safe.

As a gesture they could reset the permit such that the 70 years starts when the buildings are formally opened

3 ) The Chinese government to purchase some or all of the unfinished projects. Maybe at 80% discount.

4) Using the profit from the bank shares transaction plus more-finish the projects

Who wins 

The Chinese government.

Those who submitted deposits.

Most  of the 200,000 employees.

Who loses

The external contractors

The overseas investors

Evergrande dies!

• Like 1