Non-immigrant Ao Visa

OA visa from Japan

For 20 years I have been a Japanese resident and yearly have been coming to Thailand for the past 15 years, 3 times a year for a total of about 5 months. Since 2000 I had been getting 1 year Non-Immigrant O visas from the Thai Embassy in Tokyo with no problems. Last year they refused with no explanation and offered only 60 day tourist visas instead. This year anon-immigrant AO was suggested by the embassy staff as an alternative.

After a month of the ploughing through the most incredible bureaucratic quagmire in Japan I finally managed to get an AO visa in from the Thai Embassy there. Had I been working I would not have had the time required to collect the necessary paperwork.. There HAS to be an easier way. I suspect it is a lot more straightforward in Thailand but I was not prepared to risk it. I will happily list the procedures for anyone else as foolish as I wanting to do the same thing.

When collecting my visa I asked about the 90 day reporting I had read about. The embassy official mumbled something non-committal and when I pushed for a reply he said that all foreigners must tell the police where they live. Nothing about regular reporting. When I asked the same question at immigration at Suvanabhumi on arrival I was told ”You stay Thailand 1 year”. My passport was stamped with the usual immigration entry stamp with VISA CLASS : NON OA and ADMITTED UNTIL: 24 Feb 2009. The “NON OA” and “24 FEB 2009” handwritten. But nothing about reporting.

So I am still really none the wiser. I assume I need to report every 90 days but don’t really know. Could someone more knowledgeable let me know. Is it possible that OA visas issued outside Thailand don’t have this requirement. Wishful thinking I know, but ….?