Condominiums – Farangs Ownership Exceeds 49% Of Total Area

I have some questions for the legal experts here on thaivisa,

What is the legal procedure and possible consequences when proven a registered condominium juristic person has exceeded the 49% quota for aliens? Also how can it affect those aliens who bought when the quota was not exceeded and now wants to sell to another farang?

Is this a hypothetical question or are you involved in such a situation? I'm no legal expert but ordinarily it's impossible to complete a sale without specific evidence from both the condo itself and the government land registration office affirming that the quota has not been reached. I can't see how someone could legally buy a unit in a condominum that had already reached quota. I would assume that if they did manage to pay for the unit and take occupancy, and it later came out that foreign ownership was over quota, that any owners who had bought beyond the quota would have their titles revoked. It shouldn't affect anyone else who bought legally.

In another country perhaps. After all, they just today decided to do something about a hotel collapse in 1993. I don't think anyone fears anything will happen before the 22nd century regarding condo ownership.

If a farang becomes the owner of land or a condo with more than 49% ownership by inheritance or any other reason they have 1 year to sell it, from my memory of the 2008 Condo act. (Section 14 and 15?)

Not sure what happens if you fail to do so. Probably confiscated by the state.

It is impossible, except by mistake or fraud, for farang to own over 49% of a Condo building by purchase in their name.

It is possible for a company that a farang 'manages' to own units and take the figure over 49% but technically the company is Thai owned so the unit is Thai owned. In the case of a company they give a proxy vote to whoever they like, including to a farang. (But not the building judicial manager, employees or staff.)