How Do I Transfer Ownership?

My Thai wife wants to buy a house from the owner who has a mortgage on the house. The owner's equity is about 30%.

How can the transfer happen? I assume the bank has the chanote and we have to pay off the loan, but I have no idea what the details will be.

Any help would be appreciated.

It was not a house but a condo with a mortgage on it. The bank held the chanote. The banker showed up at the land office ready to sign off. I had previously gotten the amount of the mortgage and had a check made out to the bank for that amount. I had another check made out to the owner for his equity in the condo. Everything went smoothly and I left with the chanote in my name.

Well I am no rocket scientist and I have only been in Thailand for 9 years but I do know hundreds of places where you can fing perfect answers to your questions......They are called Lawyers Offices. I wouldnt be caught dead NOT using a Lawyer here. Go for a walk, see a Lawyers Office and go inside. That is my best advice.

My Thai wife wants to buy a house from the owner who has a mortgage on the house. The owner's equity is about 30%.

How can the transfer happen? I assume the bank has the chanote and we have to pay off the loan, but I have no idea what the details will be.

Any help would be appreciated.

We bought a house which was mortgaged. We went to the bank and signed a buyer and seller agreement with the seller and, we all, including the loan officer at the bank signed the document. I paid the bank the amount that was a mortgage and the balance I paid at the land office to the seller once the deeds we're changed into my wife's name. went very smoothly. Don't forget a usufruct, if you should need one, only 100b to register.

Regards Bojo