Volunteer Work Permit!

hey guys. i got this flyer the other day. it said,"volunteer work permit available. if you don't mind volunteering 6 hours a week, you can live in Thailand free of charge and hassle. call 0853881577."

i figure it is something worth checking out. the laws are changing and staying in this great land is getting harder to do. this may help someone, i hope. let me know what happens. take care.

I do believe that "volunteers" are covered under the "Non-O" visa.

When I first started working for my current employer (a government institution), I was issued a "Non-O" visa because I was volunteering my services in exchange for accommodation. When my employer sorted out my working contract & pay details, I went to immigration & was told that I did not need to change to a "Non-B" visa. As a result, I didn't need to leave the country in order to get a visa that allowed me to work.

I have been working under a "Non-O" visa, with work permit, for three years & have never left the country. I am not married or retired (I'm 48) nor do I have any money in any Thai bank.

I do believe that "volunteers" are covered under the "Non-O" visa.

When I first started working for my current employer (a government institution), I was issued a "Non-O" visa because I was volunteering my services in exchange for accommodation. When my employer sorted out my working contract & pay details, I went to immigration & was told that I did not need to change to a "Non-B" visa. As a result, I didn't need to leave the country in order to get a visa that allowed me to work.

I have been working under a "Non-O" visa, with work permit, for three years & have never left the country. I am not married or retired (I'm 48) nor do I have any money in any Thai bank.

You can get a work permit on a B or O (except retirement). Nothing unusual about it. A regular occurence at our business.