Proposed Home Wiring System

Crossy

Being rather bored and unable to continue with our house construction due to 1.5m of water on the site (and now no access west of Highway 347) I put my mind to the electrical arrangements for our new submarine home.

As always multiple heads are better than one, so I welcome comments from those informed in these matters, as well as anyone else for that matter. Constructive criticism is welcome.

Conceptual diagram attached.

Visio-Breakers 1.pdf

The idea is to have 3 levels of supply protection:-

1. Non-Maintained (direct off mains), aircons, water heaters.
  2. Backup (diesel genset), outlets, outdoor lighting.
  3. UPS (4kVA UPS), indoor lighting, fans, specific power outlets (red) for Home Theatre, network kit and 'Er Indoors fish tanks.

It's no surprise given what I do for a living that this concept is based around the supply arrangements on a metro station.

A couple of thoughts:-

1. We may be able to get a 30/100 supply, if so the 63A incomer (which provides max-demand limiting) will be upgraded to 100A and the 30mA RCD in the GenSet panel will be replaced by a 63A/30mA RCBO to protect our 60A transfer switch from overload.
  2. I'm not sure whether to put the water pump on the genset, it's currently on UPS (which should run it just fine).
  3. The actual rating of the genset is currently undefined, depends upon available budget.
  4. All circuits except the special freezer outlet and UPS supply are RCD protected.
  5. The distribution boards, genset and UPS are all to be located on the upper level to protect from flooding.
  6. No electrical equipment will be less than 1m from the downstairs floor level, again to keep out of all but the worst flooding.

Supply is TT so no MEN link.