Will I have to pay taxes on my social security or pension

tax in Thailand no pay,but where is your home country? uk.rules your income is set against your personel allowance over 65,

10,500gbp.anything over that amount is taxed in the uk.

Hi. If you are a UK citizen and reside in one of the countries listed on the UK Tax website you will not be taxed at source but at the country of residence. Tough - Thailand is not on the list. The UK Tax Office site is easy to use and they will respond to any relivent questions you might have.

I'm no Tax expert nor Pension expert but I am currently looking at transferring my private pension to either a QROP's or SIPPS as I will be looking to retire to Thailand in 5 or so years. I have therefore been asking my financial advisor several questions on this very subject.

If you look at the attached, it seems there is a Double Tax Treaty with Thailand (page 32) but also look at the notes. It doesn't seem to apply to State Pension but it looks like you can claim your private pension gross and opt to pay the tax in Thailand.

As I say, I am no expert on the subject and am in the early throws of my own research, so I am just posting the pdf for you to read yourselves and maybe find of some use. Those in the know may also be able to add some useful comments.

Double Tax Treaties.pdf

• Like 1

you will not I repeat you will not be taxed on any income that comes into Thailand pensions or other,but if you work or you have money in any thai bank eg.fixed term accounts you will have tax deducted at 15% as I do and many tv.members we claim it back at the end of the tax yr.you are allowed to earn around 150,000bht before you have to pay any.