Problems With Locals

I wonder

The locals where I live are insisting that I ran a small dog down at the weekend, killing it.

I have no knowledge of the event and am suspicious that it could be a case of 'exploit the farang'.

The mother of the girl owner has been on the phone to my wife cursing me and adding bits to the story as time goes by. Needless to say as time passes more and more people witnessed the event and conclude that it must have been me as I am the only owner of a Toyota Fortuner in the street. This happened the morning following my daughter's admission to hospital and I was alone in the car. That would not have been known as the windows are dark and it is not possible to see in from outside.

Because my wife's mobile battery had discharged overnight in the hospital there is added suspicion as no one could call at the time this was supposed to have happened.

Apparently the owner wants me to say sorry, infact I am very sorry that her dog has been killed but I am not prepared to admit guilt by saying that I am sorry.

After hearing and witnessing some of the Thai-Farang tussles I am reluctant to get too invloved and cetainly do not want to get into a slagging match. By the same token I want to bring the matter to a conclusion so that there are no repercusions in the future.

My wife is not so good at complicated explainations so I'm thinking I should ask a lawyer to come and do the translation so there is no ambiguity or cause for complaint at later dates. My wife seems to think that this could stir things up even more but right now we don't know the mood of these people.

What does the team think??

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If they're not asking for money, just apologise, it's not like it is going to cost you anything.

Any other course could well store up problems for later, you have to live there after all.