Residing in Bangkok but would like to buy a bike in Nakhon Phanom?

Proctor

Hi all,

I plan to buy a second hand motorcycle and the owner is in Nakhon Phanom. The bike is registered in Nakhon Phanom and I'll have to go there to get it. I currently reside in Bangkok and it is my first time buying a bike in Thailand. I plan to put the bike into my girlfriend's name as she is on a work permit (and is fronting some of the money). As far as I understand, this saves me the hassle of having to get a certificate of residency.

Given the above, my questions are as follows:

1) Could we change the name (green book) in Nakhon Phanom and what documents of mine/hers will be required to do so?

2) Could it be done in the morning (say a couple of hours) if the original owner comes with to the LTD?

3) Would I need to change the plates to Bangkok plates once back in BKK?

4) Is the best option to change ownership in Nakhon or could it be done in BKK without the original owner present?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Cheers wai.gif

1. Yes that is what you should do.

'GF on work permit'. Is she non-Thai?

If so she'll need work papers and passport; if Thai, her Thai ID.

1000baht notes are all that will be required by you.

2. Likely. Insist current owner go. Pay at transfer...when you actually have book changed.

3. Dunno.

4. Possible but risky.

What if there is a hitch?

Those 1000baht notes are gone.

Not much incentive for seller to help.

Edited by papa al

I don't know if Papa is correct in saying is the 'correct' way, but I wouldn't argue the point.

It all depends, is your girlfriend accompanying you ? Seems a long way around to do things. You will need to change the plates the first time you take it to pay the road tax in BKK, its best to do everything first off, then forget about it.

I would, and I have bought a bike with this procedure.

1. Agree on the price, you can DL a bill of sale from the DLT website.