Farang looking to buy a condo in chang rai area

I worked hard in asia not thailand and thinking to buy a small condo in the chang raai area. Nowhere sleezy like bangkok or pattaya .Is this a good idea.? I am worried that i will be cheated and robbed especially as i have no experience buying property . I know thailand well so am also aware that there are a lot of dishonest people there . Is it really worth looki g into the idea ? I have no gfriend there yet but i know they are easy to get if you got a bit of spare change . Really just looking for a place to call home as i get older . No way im going back to blighty ever with the weather and the people and all . Also do i get a visa if i buy a place ?

1 hour ago, sklmeeera said:

thinking to buy a small condo in the chang raai area. Nowhere sleezy like bangkok or pattaya .Is this a good idea.? I am worried that i will be cheated and robbed especially as i have no experience buying property . I know thailand well so am also aware that there are a lot of dishonest people there . Is it really worth looki g into the idea ?

Chiang Mai might have more to offer in the way of number and variety of available units.

I'd suggest reading all the property transaction topic threads available on ThaiVisa, and elsewhere, to familiarize your self with the different issues people run across when looking for and acquiring property in Thailand. 

I have no gfriend there yet but i know they are easy to get if you got a bit of spare change .

...  O K

Also do i get a visa if i buy a place ?

Suggest you look at this 2015 post if you're interested in that.

Pay and stay, through the Investment Visa
By Lite Beer, September 20, 2015 in Thai visas, residency and work permits 

Phuket Law: Pay and stay, through the Investment Visa

5 hours ago, sklmeeera said: