Are there jobs for westerners in Thailand?

Long story short, had enough of the politics and red tape in work in the UK and have always wanted to live in Thailand, I only really know of TEFL but not having a degree Im guessing it would be a no go for me.

Are there any jobs westerners can do in Thailand?  I'm an engineer by trade, 20 years experience etc etc, just asking here to see if there is anything I could do, how hard it is to get and what issues I may come up against

Engineer is an occupation reserved for Thais.

Although there is a proposal to let foreigners work as engineers, there will still be an exam in Thai.

Most common work for westerners are chefs and English teachers.

3 minutes ago, PoorSucker said:

Although there is a proposal to let foreigners work as engineers, there will still be an exam in Thai.

Serious ?

I know many engineers working in Thailand, surely they are not illegal.

2 minutes ago, Techno Viking said:

Serious ?

I know many engineers working in Thailand, surely they are not illegal.

It's on the list.

Professional civil engineering concerning design and calculation, systemization, analysis, planning, testing, construction supervision, or consulting services, excluding work requiring specialized techniques.

20 minutes ago, PoorSucker said:

It's on the list.

Professional civil engineering concerning design and calculation, systemization, analysis, planning, testing, construction supervision, or consulting services, excluding work requiring specialized techniques.

ahhh righto, Yeah none that I know are doing any civil engineering.

Mostly Industrial/Chemical/Electrical/Automotive.

Edited by Techno Viking

1 hour ago, mrblonde said:

Long story short, had enough of the politics and red tape in work in the UK and have always wanted to live in Thailand, I only really know of TEFL but not having a degree Im guessing it would be a no go for me.