The wife and I opened separate bank accounts at the Pink bank (GSB). 'Farang are not allowed to have the phone app'...

4 hours ago, soi3eddie said:

I've had online banking with Kbank since 2004. Their mobile App is super too. Very easy.

Yeah...Kasikorn even installed two apps on my phone...one for SME (because the girl appareently thought I was a business owner) and the regular app. Both work to this day.

Edited by tonray
  • Like 2

What visa/extension are you on ? 

When I first asked about online banking with Bangkok Bank, I was told I couldn't get it as I wasn't on a "year long" visa.

After I did get my "year long visa" they set me up no problem (within minutes actually). (I don't do banking on my phone though.)

And if they still say no, there's no reason you can't simply tell them "Thank you, I will now close my account(s) and open new ones at one of your competitors." 
Smaller branches may not want to lose too many accounts as it looks bad for the manager.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

You need a Thai ID number to activate the phone apps. This includes LinePay. No idea if the pink ID cards work.

I feel your frustration after years in China with WeChat Pay. Nobody had cash and even little street carts had a QR code on the front. It was great.

• Confused 1
  • Sad 1

I have accounts with KBank, Bangkok Bank and SCB and they all gave me the phone app. Never questioned it at all.

I reckon you just met some angry clerk who probably got offended by a farang at some point and simply made up the rule to annoy you. Try another branch/bank.

19 minutes ago, wwest5829 said:

No Thai ID numbers for either my Bangkok Bank nor Kasikorn Bank account apps on my iPhone. Just sayin ...

my Bangkok Bank app had to be activated by the woman in the bank while opening account.  

same SCB. 

Do you remember doing anything like that? 

• Thanks 1

22 hours ago, johng said: