Thai massage.... I want to change the lady

wn78

Recently I had a really uncomfortable foot massage session.  I generally don’t like to be massaged hard, so I would often tell the lady to adjust it to a more comfortable level, and it works well for me.  This last time I must have told her 5 times to go easy, and yet even when she was no longer pressing too hard, somehow her fingers felt like they were made from hardwood, and every couple of minutes she would make me uncomfortable.  The shop was actually premium with higher prices, advertised “traditional Thai massage”, and well rated on Google.  Only after it was over, and I was walking away feeling quite unsatisfied, it occurred to me that next time in that kind of situation I would just ask to change the lady.  I’ve never done that before, and never seen it done by others.  I assume it would make the lady lose face, and I would certainly not enjoy doing it, but I can’t pay for 1 hour of feeling unrelaxed just to spare her feelings.

In my moderate experience of a few dozen massages, I find that only a small percentage of ladies are really good, and have a good sense how to adjust to each particular person to do a good penetrating massage without making it uncomfortable.  The majority are average, just ok, either too strong, too weak, or just not a great feeling overall.   Recently someone who went to a massage school explained to me that it’s not just the amount of pressure, but the angle and the motion of the fingers, and they teach those nuances in a massage school.  The majority of ladies at street massage shops never go to any real training and just learn on the job, and the result is general mediocrity, even at “premium” places.  I am yet to figure out how to locate shops that employ well trained staff.

Thoughts?

Edited by wn78