Opening A New Bangkok Bank Savings Account

I wanted to open a new account solely to direct deposit my monthly SSA payments. Presently my SSA payments go to my US bank. I would transfer 65k+ baht monthly to my BBL account to renew my extension on my Thai visa each year. Thai immigration said they will only accept deposits directly from SSA to my BBL. I went to BBL and they gave me a Direct Deposit account, no ATM access, no internet access. I will have to pick up the money in person each month and deposit it in my regular BBL account. If I direct deposited my SSA payments to my existing account they would cancel the ATM access and the internet access for that account. After I received this new Direct Deposit BBL account I called BBL (1333) and they verified this is the correct procedure.

I have been transferring 65k+ monthly for 24 years without a problem, however this is no longer acceptable with my local Thai Immigration.

In the past as long as the incoming deposits were "International Transfer" they were acceptable to Immigration.

The SSA extended the International Direct Deposit (IDD) method to Thailand a few years ago.  

It is now possible to have your SSA benefits sent directly to a "normal" savings account at other Thai banks.  I have heard that the other Thai banks do allow transactions via ATM/debit cards and smartphone apps. 

Both BBL and your local Thai Immigration are being overly restrictive it seems.

Here's the form you need to fill in and send to FBU Manila:

https://www.ssa.gov/forms/ssa-1199-op107.pdf

I would suggest you fill out your portion of the above form and take it with you when you open a new account at a different Thai bank.

Good luck!

• Like 1

Thanks for the reply. My friend suggested I open a separate account just for SSA direct deposits. He has one with BBL with no restrictions. I will try Kasikorn.

3 hours ago, mackayae said: