Transfer Fee

Hey everyone

As you know new regulations took effect on April the first (although only one out of three percentage is usually mentionned)

Today we went to the land department to proceed with the purchase of a condominium

As expected the fees were as follows:

1) 0,01 % of the value of the land department

2) 0,50 % of the amount declared (Duty stamp)

These two fees are correct

But I was choked is when I was asked to pay

3) 2,50 % of the land department's value

A receipt was issued with the above figures so no tea money involved

I really don't understand these 2,50 % as the condo had belonged to the seller for 23 years

Does anyone know whether this is standard ?

I have read that it should be around 1% but no further details?

Thanks

I am not a lawyer so my knowledge is based only on what I have read here on this forum as well as other articles written by lawyers and/or accountants on this subject. Because the property in question has been owned by the seller for 23 years, I believe the fee that you are questioning is the income/withholding tax, which is a tax computed based on an assumed cost of the property and based on the number of years held. I think you need a good translation of which fees you are being asked to pay.

The second point is that the specific business tax and the income/withholding tax is assessed on the seller of the property. Who pays for it is often negotiated during the negotiations on the sale of the property and should be noted in the sales and purchase agreement. Why are you being presented with the bills to pay all the taxes and fees? Had you consented to pay all such taxes, including the actual transfer fee?

A lawyer might shed better light on this, but this is my reading on your problem.