Retirement Visa 800,000. Baht Option

I've been receiving my retirement visa for the past 8 years by keeping 800,000. Baht in my Bangkok Bank savings account. My question is can I remove some of these funds and re-deposit them 3 months before I apply for my new retirement visa in December 09? My second question is if I remove 400,000. baht and invest it locally, when I redeposit the 400,000. bringing the account back to 800,000.Baht will the funds have to be sent from abroad or could I redeposit the 400,000. baht locally?

Thanks for any assistance

1. Yes
  2. You can redeposit the original 400,000 THB locally 90 days prior to your next retirement extension.
  3. Are you saying that the 800,000 THB has been on deposit for 8 years? Do you even have proof of foreign transfer of the funds?

Yes, I have had the 800,000. in the bank for 8 years - just removing the interest once a year.

No, I can't find the proof of foreign transfer of the funds. Fortunately, I have never been asked to show proof.

I don't think there is anyone here who can assure you it is definitely OK for you to redeposit the funds locally. You may hear from people who have done that without question, but it is always going to be up to the discretion of the officer you encounter as they always the right to ask for more information/documentation. I think the funds are supposed to be transferred in from abroad.

Edited by Jingthing

I've been receiving my retirement visa for the past 8 years by keeping 800,000. Baht in my Bangkok Bank savings account.

Why would you keep this sort of money in a SAVINGS Account ??