Ford Hi-rider

well, here it is,

i know nothing about cars, and i need one. :o

from those i've seen (all pick-ups) i can understand on no major differences, or at least none that would affect the intended uses of the car (commuting to and from work, occasional weekend trip)

The most convenient , financially, servicewise, etc seems to be the Ford HiRider

2.5, auto, with all the trimmings :D

but is it worth it?

anyone with first hand experience or valuable opinions to throw at me please?

cheers

costas

its an old design , 8 years or so , and is due to be changed soon.

the diesel engine technology is also old , isuzu and toyota common rail engines are more fuel efficient. the ford interior is outdated too.

its an old nail that has been given a makeover to give it showroom appeal until the new model comes along. i've heard that ford servicing and customer service doesnt compare to toyota or isuzu , but i have no first hand experience of the model.

if you want the car as a workhorse or appliance then its probably fine.

but for a slightly bigger outlay you could be getting , i believe , a much better car.

chevrolet who use isuzu technology have a new model on the market and it is priced competitively.

Tax,

I agree with you.

But some Ford/Mazda models are being outed at 25 percent discount now and that puts a different slant on it.

The 2.9 is a dog but despite the old technology the 2.5 turbo isn't all that bad for an indirect injection and there are no electronics to go wrong so for a work horse it is OK (ish) .

i know it sounds silly but since

a. i'll only doing 20 km a day on a flat straight line

b.i'll only be going locally for WE trips, i.e not major journeys involved

c. i could not care less about how better a model i dont really need is

and most importantly

d. i'll be paying as a Thai,

i.e itsnot a visit to the shop with cash in pocket (as i dont have any) :D