Tefl Masters In Chiang Mai

Hi,

I'm an English teacher here at a university in Bangkok, and am looking to further my qualifications. I want to move to Chiang Mai. There are two options for study there: the international TEFL Masters run by Payap University, or the TEFL Masters run by CMU (taught in Thai). There is a massive difference in cost, and I don't like Payap's no students-riding-motorbike regulations ( I own two). The other difference is that studying in Thai would seriously improve my own Thai langauge skills, so I'm tempted to go for CMU.

If anyone has any experience with either of these courses, or of studying a degree program taught in Thai at CMU, I'd be super-grateful for reviews.

Oldmankit

Wouldn't it be hard to take a test in Thai?

Good question. There's a central government exam for all undergraduate courses, but this is postgraduate, so it's really up to the faculty what test (if any) they impose. There is a 20,000 Baht 'foreigner fee' per semester, which I'm sure will encourage them to be lenient, i.e. let me use a dictionary. However I think if there was a difficult exam I'd probably fail.

I know of a Chinese guy who's studying a masters in linguistics at Chula and his Thai isn't too good. In conversation he always reverts to English, but all of the text books/written work is in English anyway, so it's actually easier than you'd think.

My wife, Thai national, had a lot of issues with payap.

She completed her course work in 2 years with a 3.4+ GPA and then had trouble with advisors.

One advisor jerked her around for almost 3 years while she was trying to write her thesis. This woman also lost her grant request, not once but twice. My wife had a chance at a $10,000 USD grant for her research, but "Oops" the prof "forgot" to submit it.